Achieving your Google Adsense Goals - Part 3
Bonus Question: How much does all this cost? Unlike search advertising, where the only model is cost per click, content advertising provides two options ” cost per click and cost per impression. The cost per click pricing model is very similar to search advertising, so no further explanation is required here. Cost per impression pricing, however, can work against you if not set up properly, so requires some further comment.
So what on earth is an impression? An impression is a unique page load that your prospect makes on any page your content ad is presented. So, if after 1000 page loads your ad is clicked 100 times, you pay only $2.00 per 1000 page loads, then your cost per click is $2.00/100 = 2 cents ” a cost so low that you may struggle to improve on this with search advertising.
So far so good. However, if your ad is placed so far down the page that it is not seen each time the page is loaded and the site is very busy, then the story is quite different. For instance, from 10,000 page loads you may only achieve 10 clicks, and at $2.00 per 1000 page loads, your click cost is now $20/10 = $2.00 ” a cost you could well better with search advertising.
Hence, purchasing your content advertising on a cost per impression basis needs some careful consideration. Remember that throughout all this, a click cost of $2.00 from your content campaign could be fine if those clicks go on to provide a 50% conversion rate on your landing page ” leaving you with a very attractive cost per lead. So there you have it, six snapshots to introduce you to the content advertising network and go some way to explain the differences between it and its much larger search advertising cousin. In some lead generation cases, traffic from this network is the only traffic that generates leads, while others successfully use a mix of both content and search advertising.
Why not give it a try and see how you fare or, failing that, ask the team at Permission to help you out?
Tags: a, b, business, content advertising, E, g, google, google adsense, Internet Marketing, m, marketing, n, o, online marketing, p, paid advertising, paid content advertising, paid search advertising, s, search engine optimisation, search engine optimization, seo